228 – Hope

Click the video above for several minutes of background waves while reading.

I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

Some days I come to the beach knowing my topic – but other times I begin hoping something comes to my mind. Even with a topic, I hope thoughts come to me, and then coalesce into something coherent. I chuckle because this thought leads me to my topic for the day.

Each day starts with many hopes: hoping to walk on the beach, hoping for no rain, hoping for pleasant temperatures, hoping for a reasonable wind, and hoping for relatively level, packed sand that is great for walking.

Photo by Lukas on Pexels.com

Each day starts with hopes as a wish, desire, or aspiration – just like a child hoping to find a certain gift in that wrapped present. Hope can be a child’s dream of becoming a fireman or soldier, playing college basketball, completing a multi-day bicycling journey, and more. 

My daily hopes as a snowbird at the beach are no different than my hopes when I was young – hopes as wishes, desires, and aspirations – but hope can also be an ambition, anticipation, craving, or desire. However, as we get older, I imagine realization tempers hope.

But this isn’t the hope I’m thinking about today because I’m pondering hope as trust, belief, confidence, and expectation. Hope may be one of those words we frequently misuse, so I hope that doesn’t happen here – but I’m confident it will because it already happened.

I think of hope in a positive light. Even in a time of darkness, we hang onto hope. When facing challenges in life, such as bitterness, deceit, despair, division, and fear, hope is the guiding light that helps us survive. We grab and hold onto hope because hope is a promise and a sense of optimism. 

Photo by Torsten Dettlaff on Pexels.com

I think of hope asking nothing from us, and we ask nothing from hope because it is a special trust – a reliance. Hope provides the light of seeing a positive tomorrow because hope is a force that gives us persistence and courage.

I think of hope as something we depend on, but hope also involves patience. I think of surfers waiting for waves. They aren’t hoping for the big wave because they patiently wait to catch the right wave at the right time.

I think of hope as a feeling that time will take care of us because hope cannot correct yesterday, but it can influence tomorrow.

I think of hope as a pillar of humanity – such as receiving a smile from a friend or a stranger because smiles express hope. Hope is security and a sense of being – even Linus’s blanket. 

Photo by Wendy Wei on Pexels.com

I think hope is a guiding force that everything will work out because hope is difficult to abandon. I think of the many Ukrainians and others in conflict relying on hope – hope for their country – hope for themselves – hope for their family – hope for fellow citizens – hope for future generations.

I think hope is a powerful sense involving peace, dreams, imagination, memories, desires, wishes, expectations, and the light at the end of the tunnel. But if we don’t have hope, do we have anything? Then again, some prepare for the worst but hope for the best.

Hope is a sunrise – starting a new day – giving each of us a fresh start to lead us to a positive tomorrow. Sunrise is the great Refresh button for the new day – a time promising a clean slate.

Hope involves persistence. I think of those fishing that I pass daily on the beach. Men and women with chairs, food, and beverages as they patiently watch their poles for much of the day. They are also very patient. Through their good days and the days of only a few nibbles, hope doesn’t waiver. Maybe there is a relationship between hope and the bait on the hook.

Photo by cottonbro studio on Pexels.com

Hope is not an expectation – not a conviction – not necessarily optimism. Hope involves many emotions – from frustration to exhilaration – laughter to crying – and anticipation to frustration.

Hope is something we need for happiness, confidence, and security. Perhaps this is the hope that theologians ponder. 

As my walk ends, I admit hope wasn’t as easy of a topic as I hoped. Then again, I know there is much more to say about hope, and I anticipate another essay based on comments. On the other hand, I tried because I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

I’m linking to Jo’s Monday Walk as she takes us a different way to Querenca. Tell her I sent you.

See what other bloggers have posted about Hope

Next Post: Space – Saturday 11th May @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

70 thoughts on “228 – Hope”

    1. Jo,

      Thanks for the kind thoughts. I agree … not an easy subject. Easy to say than to write about. I had limits on myself – but even with them – it turned out easier than I thought it would be. Will miss the Monday Walk … especially the dessert … 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It must be an amazing number of sentences in a lifetime that begin with the words, “I hope…” My grandparents often used the expression that they had “high hopes” for one outcome or another.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post, Frank! Hope is my favorite word/feeling/wish. It’s Annie singing “The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow”. I especially like how you described a sunrise.

    Like

    1. Lynn,

      Thank you for the kind words. Thoughts of “soothing and uplifting” make me smile because those are two adjectives I aim for in all the essays. Yet, I also chuckle thinking, yep … hope is part of the “light at the end of the tunnel” …. especially hoping it’s not a train. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Terrific post Frank. What would we do without hope? Hope is what keeps us going in the worst of times. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be in a terrible situation without any hope of a positive outcome.

    With all the conflicts going on around this world, more than ever we need to cling to hope, in some cases prayers as well, so we can see the light at the end of the tunnel.

    Hoping you and your bride enjoy a pleasant weekend.

    Ginger🦋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginger,

      As you have a way of doing, your comments make me smile and feel appreciated. Thank you. “What would we (humans) do without hope?” … wow … what an interesting question for everyone to ponder. Probably crack up! … then you think about what we have “bad” going on, then compare it to events in other parts of the world or even in other lives around us, oh boy … the mind can explode. Meanwhile, I have about 9 days of bachelorhood (and about half way through) as the bride is on a girls trip. I’m doing two things … whatever I want, whenever I want. 🙂

      Like

  4. Hello Frank,

    One of the reasons I enjoy your beach walks is that they always hold a sense of hope. There’s always a feeling of better tomorrows on your sunrise horizons, an air of good things coming in with the sea breezes and the knowledge of renewal shown by your refreshed feet as its prints are made then washed away.

    I hope you liked my comment. Next to the beach: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es3Vsfzdr14&t=1s

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Resa,

      I appreciate your thoughts … and thank you. I want this essays to be kind, thought provoking, calm, and I think hopeful is a good addition. I’ll take it. And I think once a week is plenty because (from my point of view), I don’t want to burden my readers. Sunrises are a great renewal …. the start of a new day with hopes of better times ahead …. especially when we are down for whatever reason. Of course I love the video. Interestingly, Playing for Change has two versions of this … I used the other one not to long ago … but I may have to work this one is somewhere. Thanks. Clink.

      Like

  5. A lovely topic for the week Frank – what could be better than hope (well perhaps hopes-fulfilled?). If one has hope then nothing is 100% bleak, there is always a glimmer of possibility. Hope, it seems to me, is the first step toward making something happen. Without hope we are truly lost. An excellent reminder of the importance of positivity.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your observation about trust being connected with hope really resonates for me. Both seem to be in short supply these days, but they are still there underneath all the layers of other mixed emotions I think. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kerfe,

      Thanks for your thought-provoking words. There is no doubt in my mind that hope plays an important part in life of people … so what would it be like if we didn’t have hope? YIKES!!!! I like your thought of “seemingly in short supply, but they still present underneath the layers.” Brilliant … and thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “Maybe there is a relationship between hope and the bait on the hook.”

    I thought that was a profound point.

    It speaks to hope involving some action on our part, not just thinking whatever we wish for will just drop out of the sky at our feet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eileen,

      At first, your comment made me chuckle because I wondered, “Did I write that?” But I re-read the paragraph in context … so now I smile. I like your explanation because it extends the thought beyond those fishing. Thank you!

      PS: I write these long ago … so they slip my mind. My most recent thoughts are in the essays that I’m working on for months for now. 🙂 So thanks for the reminder.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Frank, I think Hope is one of those things we cling to, whether in good or bad times. It enables us to carry on while tempering our tendency to expect that things will always be good. It enables us to focus on the long-term, rather than only living in the moment. And it carries so much possibility! Well done, good sir!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debbie,
      I like associating “cling” to hope … well done … after all it is so true. Good times and bad are so relative … as I like to say, compared to what? After all, my bad days are better than what’s going on in various parts of the world. Yet, they are hanging to hope!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. An apropos post for certain at this time in my life. I hang on to hope, since the announcement of the lay offs at my school, that this is life pointing me in a new and hopefully better direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A great discussion on hope, Frank ! A agree wholeheartedly – hope is important for motivation, resilience, and purpose in tough times. It helps us stay positive, set goals, and work towards a better future. I have read that hope can boost mental health, lower stress, and improve well-being. It also enhances creativity, problem-solving, and the ability to overcome challenges. Hope is a strong force that pushes us to keep going and aim for a better future.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rebecca,
      As I know you provide … wonderful comments! Hope is complex, and much more than a wish. I appreciate you adding some positive benefits of hope. On the other hand, a certain aspect of hope is relative to the situation. After all, compared to other situations in the world, my bad days are actually easy. Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. There’s an episode of Monk wherein someone tries to tell him to not have high hopes and he replies with something like “but that’s where hopes belong.” I think of him saying that whenever I think about hope. 

    Liked by 1 person

  12. An interesting meditation on hope Frank. I think hope is at the basic level what keeps us going – the hope we will survive and the hope that things will get better – but I agree that there are so many different types of hope as you’ve mentioned here.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hope is woven into the fiber of life. I’ve become keenly aware of it as our family welcomes a new member, my {gulp} great, granddaughter 4 weeks ago. Every day I hope her life is full of promise, health and happiness. 💙🩷

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Like your post, hope gives us the courage to face another day, Frank: “I think of hope as a pillar of humanity – such as receiving a smile from a friend or a stranger because smiles express hope. Hope is security and a sense of being – even Linus’s blanket.” Hope is the4 morning dew on my window and the call of the birds as the sun warms me to face another day ahead. ❣️❣️❣️

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Hi Frank! Your paragraph of “Each day starts with many hopes: hoping to walk on the beach, hoping for no rain, hoping for pleasant temperatures, hoping for a reasonable wind, and hoping for relatively level, packed sand that is great for walking” resonated with me and my recent trip to FL (minus the hope of navigating walking on sea shells and finding the perfect ones to pick up and bring home with me) 😂 That’s how every day at the beach felt to me too. 

    Your essay also reminded me of a favorite poem by Percy Bysshe Shelley (I always love sharing the Shelley part of his name). ”To suffer woes which Hope thinks infinite; To forgive wrongs darker than death or night; To defy Power, which seems omnipotent; To love, and bear; to hope till Hope creates from it’s own wreck the thing it contemplates; neither to change, not falter, nor repent; This, like they glory, Titan, is to be Good, great and joyous, beautiful and free; This alone is Life, Joy, Empire, and Victory”. 

    I hope your spring and summer is bringing you much joy! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, a wonderful time was had and the rejuvenation feelings are hanging in there as we get to warmer weather up here in the north woods! The beach is a special place to connect with letting go of worries! You’re welcome, thanks for the space to share our thoughts!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. agree to not an easy topic…but you walked us through beautifully, Frank.
    Hope is really that which we plan our tomorrow’s with. Sometimes there’s that sunrise with our name written on it for that day and sometimes it’s a cloudy dawn as we wait for the next sunrise…still with hope.

    this that you say… “I think of hope asking nothing from us, and we ask nothing from hope because it is a special trust “– I really like the profoundness of it.

    Thank you as always, Frank. 🤍🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.