200 – Breathe

Because I like milestones, this is the 200th beach walk reflection. Thanks to those who have stopped by and thought about topics …. and special thanks to those who have been here from the beginning.

Click the video above for several minutes of background waves while reading.

I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

I deeply inhale – then slowly exhale. Ahhhh …. The fresh sea air is wonderful. It’s like nowhere else – probably a mixture of the salty sea spray, wet sand, and various aspects of biology. To me, this air is an elixir of life.

Breathe. A sign of life because it is essential for life – something we unconsciously do over 20,000 times a day. I think about each time we breathe – the taking in of oxygen and the disposal of carbon dioxide – yet we forget that the atmosphere is about 20% oxygen and 79% nitrogen. I chuckle thinking about my high school students being unable to say anything beyond needing to breathe to live; otherwise, we’ll die.

Photo by Kelvin Valerio on Pexels.com

Breathe. Breathe slowly. Relax. Breathe to meditate. Breathe to allow yourself to step away from the craziness of life to focus on yourself. Breathe to not let distractions take you away from yourself. Just breathe to relax – and relax to breathe.

Breathe to slow down – to connect with your mind, body, and soul. Breathe to inflate your lungs. Breathe to appreciate you are still breathing. After all, consider the alternative. 

I think about how we want space to breathe after exerting ourselves or having an emotional moment. I can only remember hyperventilating once in my life. On the other hand, we often don’t breathe during times of stress. Holding our breath doesn’t make sense to me, but stress has a way of taking us away from normality. So breathe to reduce stress one exhale at a time. (Thanks, Debra)

I think about other aspects of breathing in life. I still can’t imagine running a marathon, but training increases lung capacity. I think about how singers learn to control their breathing. The same with brass and wind musicians. I chuckle at my tendency (and others) to hold my breath when dancing smooth dances such as Waltz, Foxtrot, and Tango. That’s not a good idea – just breathe.

Photo by Engin Akyurt on Pexels.com

I think about airplanes pressurizing the cabin so we can breathe normally during travel. Scuba divers carry oxygen tanks to allow them to breathe underwater. Astronauts use a specialized suit for breathing and life support during a space walk. 

I think that each time we breathe involves inhaling impurities such as viruses, dust, smoke, pollutants, and chemicals. I remember working in a coal-burning power plant for three summers – a great place for anyone enjoying a hot, noisy, and dirty environment. 

I think that each time we breathe involves inhaling a variety of scents that our smell receptors detect. Messages that nerves take to our brain’s centers for smell and emotions that may affect our next breath. Scents that we will translate from pleasant to pungent. Scents that memories take us back to a time and place as an olfactory deja vu.

I think about enjoying wine. Giving the wine a chance to breathe opens up its aromas that will enhance our sensory experience. There are reasons for slowly inhaling before and after swirling the glass. After all, the more we smell, the more we taste. 

Photo by Posawee Suwannaphati on Pexels.com

I think of different ways living things get their necessary oxygen. I look to the land and notice the trees that get much of their oxygen from their roots in the soil. I shiver at the thought that people know that plants release oxygen as waste in one process, but fail to realize there is much more to the story. But yes, plants breathe in oxygen because they need it just like us – and for the same reason.

I look into the sky to notice the birds flying. Their collection of elastic air sacs is less flexible than our lungs, plus they lack a diaphragm. But they have a way to breathe – and some soaring birds do so at a very high altitude.

I think about the relationship between birds and dinosaurs with similar lungs. But the atmosphere during the time of dinosaurs contained less oxygen than today, so we and other mammals wouldn’t have done well in the dinosaur age. 

Photo by bt3gl u2661 on Pexels.com

I look out to sea thinking about the fish with their feathery gills doing for fish what our lungs do for us. Yes, fish breathe. I think of the many single-celled organisms receiving their oxygen by simple diffusion through their cell membrane. Jellyfish, too. Yes, that’s the way they breathe. I smile as my timing couldn’t be better as I watch several dolphins coming to the surface to breathe using their diaphragm.

The end of my walk is an opportunity to slowly inhale, slowly exhale, and savor the freshness of each breath of the air of the beach and sea. The breath delivers all the scents of a symphony – the melody, harmony, and accompaniment. I know this air isn’t pollution-free, but it is an elixir – and another reason I like to walk on the beach – which is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

See what other bloggers have posted about Breathe

Next Post: History – Saturday 23rd September @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

75 thoughts on “200 – Breathe”

  1. I love the flow of your posts and each post separately – as you well know!]. There couldn’t be a more appropriate elemental subject than breathing! We tend to forget how elementary it is yet our being depends on it! Happy Saturday, my friend with a breath of joy!
    Yamas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just lost a long comment…now I have to breathe so I won’t loose my temper. Sometimes WordPress knocks me off a blog at just the wrong moment.
    I love breathing in the sea air, and the crisp cold air on a nice clear winter day…though it may cause my cold induced asthma to flare up…then its hard to breathe.
    Lately its been a bit hard to breathe in nice fresh air outside with all the smoke in the atmosphere.

    Thanks for another thought provoking post! Breathe!!

    Like

    1. Ingrid,
      Oh how those pesky, sneaky WP gnomes make it difficult for us … and we never know when they will strike. At least I know they are always lurking. Breathing issues is something I didn’t address in this essay – but I know there are many. Continued best wishes to you and your asthma management.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A subject we can all relate to – or we wouldn’t be here! I think of what I’d miss if I couldn’t smell scents when I breathe which is a sad but real thing for many people……ocean breezes, roses, perfumes, rain – oh I would be sad if I couldn’t enjoy them. Isn’t it funny that unless someone MAKES you think about breathing you don’t even notice you are doing it – it’s automatic – it’s elemental – it’s ESSENTIAL. It’s life………….

    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good morning, Frank! This is a wonderful post to read early in the morning. I’m imagining the breathing in that sea air. You’re right, it’s very special. And sometimes it feels like the ocean is breathing, too.
    I’ve heard and read some about the similarity between birds and dinosaurs. It always fascinates me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Frank, thank you for this lovely and reflective post. I have never hyperventilated but since I had Covid, every time I get sick, I end up breathing using only the top chambers of my lungs x d have to do exercises to retrain my lungs

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 200th Beach Walk Reflection! Now that would take anyone’s breath away! Congratulations on such an impressive accomplishment! You know, breathing in and out never crosses my mind, unless I can’t breathe, perhaps due to a head cold or sinus infection! Nor do I think about how many times a day my heart beats, or my eyes blink, or I swallow. It’s weird the things I take for granted. But I shouldn’t take them for granted. I only have life because these organs function.

    So thanks to your very informative post, I am going to pay more attention to what keeps me going. You may be retired Frank, but you’re still teaching!

    And if something sneaks out of the ocean and bites or stings your foot, do what my mother always made me do when in pain, “Take a deep breath and then sing a song. It will take the pain away.” Truth be known? That never worked for me! 🥴
    Ginger

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginger,
      Thanks for the kind words for this essay and what I do here. The teacher in me is part of me, and it comes out here. Plus, you made me laugh with the story about your mother, 😀

      When I started here in Oct 2020, I posted 3 times a week … sometimes 4 … but then learned that once of week was plenty. After all, (and although it took me awhile) I learned that I didn’t want to overwhelm readers. I had my previous blog for 11+ years – a place where I did slightly over 2300 posts.

      Thanks for walking along and sharing.

      Like

  7. What a great topic, Frank, and congrats on your 200th! That’s an impressive statistic, you know. As a musician, I know the importance of proper breath control (did you know it takes more air to blow a flute than it does to play a tuba?!?) Anyway, I enjoy watching Monk take naps below my desk as I’m working. Sometimes, he flops onto his back, legs splayed open, and breaths right out of his mouth. Gotta love a pup that relaxed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debbie,
      Thanks for the congrats. As you know, wind musicians learn breathing control – singers too … and the more skilled they are, the more control they have. Oh what the professionals can do! Thanks about the factoid regarding the air with the flute & tuba … I didn’t know! A good friend of mine majored in flute … so I’ll seek his input. Thanks …. and cheers to Monk! 🙂 …. Oh … and I hope you little tree is still breathing.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely subject for this one Frank. Something we don’t often consciously think about and yet without breath there would be no life. And certainly a focus on slow breathing can help during times of tension or stress. I loved your exploration of how other life forms breathe – not something I’d normally think about! Lovely post for my week’s start.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tina,
      Glad you enjoyed this stroll and that I got you thinking about the importance of breathing in other life forms. The need by the plants fascinates me because most people don’t think about plants needing to breath in oxygen because they think plants only release oxygen. Thanks for walking along.

      Like

  9. You’re right, too many of us fail to breathe in times of stress and it’s sort of like when you tense up in a crash. It’s the natural reaction but it takes a toll in the immediate aftermath as well as later on.

    Running has helped me understand my breathing. I never did master the ability to breathe through my nose while running but I’ve learned it doesn’t matter. What matters is that I’m able to regulate my breathing. I’m not panting, I’m not out of breath.

    This post brings to mind I found myself out in a hail storm that came on suddenly. The hail was so dense that I felt as if I was drowning, so I took my pull over and used it like a tent, shielding myself from the hail until it passed. Yes, I had to remind myself to breathe because I was stunned by what had happened.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m amazed at your milestone of 200 beach walks! That’s an incredible accomplishment, Frank. I have practiced yoga for many years and can attest on a personal level that an intentional focus on breathing and doing focused breath work has true restorative value. Our oak tree was recently laced and the arborist kept referring to opening up the branch structure so that the tree could breathe. That was his word. I loved your post and reading it I was caught up in how incredible it is that all living things breathe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debra,
      Love your point that the arborist said – which is perfect for this essay. Interestingly, single-celled organisms (such as Amoebas) breathe by diffusion with their environment. Mammals have a more elaborate system for diffusion to take place … so differences between organisms is about the mechanism, not the action. (I hope that makes sense) Thanks for the milestone congrats – but I hope you caught my reference of you and your tagline in the essay. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I have just been doing your thing, walking on the beach, and I must say it is good for the soul. A deep breath of marine air and sand underneath my feet and all the while gazing out at the impossibly blue Mediterranean 💙 . Is it me or does the sound of waves crashing also drown out the chatter in one’s head. Breathe indeed! 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cristina,
      Ahhhh …. good for you. In terms of our inner chatter, I can see both sides. The sound of waves relaxes the entire body, including the chatter. However, when I’m thinking while walking, the brain is active – even sometimes unable to focus. In other words, who knows. Enjoy your time there!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. One of the things I enjoy about meditation is the focus on our breath.
    Your posts brings forth the importance of taking time to slow down and breathe.
    I had a bit of a chucle when I turned on the beach video. The seagull looks a bit lost.
    He’e so cute. I always enjoy watching them when I’m at the beach.
    I enjoyed this post a lot, aFrank. Hope you have a great weekend of relaxation.
    Isadora 😎 🏖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.