205 – Humans v3

I dedicate this essay to my readers because these are your words from comments on my previous two essays about humans. All I did was edit, arrange, and attempt to provide a common voice. Because of the length, I divided it into two essays.

Click the video above for several minutes of background waves while reading.

I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet. 

Humans are the same because we all want to be safe, happy, and loved while wishing the best for our loved ones. We yearn for community, but DNA, culture, history, compassion, behaviors, communication, needs, life experiences, and much more connect us.

Everyone is a book with a unique story, but it is a book that weaves into the storyline of family members, neighbors, friends, colleagues, and more unknown people than we realize. 

Photo by Alexander Grey on Pexels.com

All of us are good and bad, happy and sad, kind and mean; plus much more. Everyone has joys, problems, successes, failures, dreams, fears, and worries. 

For better or worse, we are very random creatures – maybe the most random of all living things because our brains deliver individuality. We journey with no concrete purpose much of the time, but we find things that spur us into action. Most of us may not realize our complexity, but I think our ability to deal with randomness and structure drives the human ship. Then again, that’s the human brain at work.

We adapt and change our behavior based on external conditions and our internal landscape. We can rise above instinct, suppress fear, and react with reason, which steps outside our biological programming – but even the most placid of animals can unexpectedly turn. That does not make our dark sides right, but perhaps our dark behaviors are a kind of warped defense mechanism.

The human ability to ponder is a blessing and a curse. A curse because we often cannot find the peace that other creatures seem to enjoy – but we do not know their struggle. We judge everything based on our criteria. Well, that’s our selfishness coming through.

Photo by Wojciech Marciniak on Pexels.com

Sometimes I think the other animals are lucky because they aren’t so burdened with pondering about meaning and can live their lives without angst beyond survival – but perhaps they miss out on experiencing joy, creativity, problem-solving, and various forms of high-level communication.

We mostly learn about others through interactions, life experiences, and observation. Formal education fits in to help us establish our niche in the world – but we learn much more informally.

We organize ourselves into cultures and groups within a culture. Cultures with different languages, customs, foods, behaviors, traditions, laws, expectations, and more – yet we forget our shared commonalities and often side with selfishness. I would love to see humans treat all life as they would like to be treated.

We are unique and complex, but neither is an excuse for not being kind to each other. Greed, avarice, selfishness, and tribalism surpass decency. We need to all be more Human! As unique and complex as we are, it is that simple, but human stupidity makes it seem like we never will. 

Photo by Almada Studio on Pexels.com

We are a wacky configuration of blessings, curses, rights, and wrongs – but in the end, what separates us most of all from the wild beasts is that we can mess up the lyrics to our favorite songs.

We need to learn to accept that we are the same but different. We are like works of art that others interpret but not in the same way – yet connecting the interpretation into the large jigsaw puzzle of the overview of life.

Our uniqueness has led each of us to many wonderful connections in life. I often think about the people I’ve met along my life journey who left a lasting impression on me; and helped me to be myself. This helped me learn and find my way – to pick up behaviors from others that I turned into new habits. I confidently say this is true for each of us.

There is no end to our ruminations about ourselves. Humans are many things – uniquely different from each other – uniquely different from other living things – yet we share much in common and the rest of life. But throughout all our plusses and minuses, we are worth thinking about. Maybe we should think about humanity more often. After all, I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet. 

See what other bloggers have posted about Humans

Next Post: Humans v4 – Saturday 25th November @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

79 thoughts on “205 – Humans v3”

  1. Love this……every word. We are unique but still a part of the whole. The world is alive but maybe in some ways slowly dying but aren’t we all after all? I have always been happy to be human – feeling somewhat superior in some undefined way but our behavior as a whole sometimes makes me feel we might be sadly lacking in “humanity”……..I think I’ll continue pondering this for the rest of my life. This one is a deep dive Frank – just what we need these days.

    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pam,
      Glad you enjoyed this essay and it made you think. Needless to say, that’s music to my ears. Thank you. I believe no species has affected the world more than humans. Then again, that’s a double-edged sword of good and bad. If you only treated others better. Meanwhile, cheers to my readers as yourself providing great comments for me to work into another essay.

      Like

    1. Robin,
      I consider myself lucky to get so many comments that are words that I wish I would have thought of for the initial essay. Fortunately, I am able to take those words and weave them into something meaningful – which is much easier than writing from scratch! Meanwhile, I agree with you – sometimes I don’t know about humans. We are quite the conundrum. Thanks for walking along.

      Like

  2. Well done and well said. Although I am afraid we will never get to that point of understanding, accepting and learning for the future. We are a hopeless lot, humans without humanism.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Leya,
      Thank you and glad you enjoyed this one. Although I like to consider the positive side of humanity, I also foresee the future continuing on the same trend. Hopeless without humanism fits for me … but let us not forget the goodness that is out there that keeps a glimmer of hope!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I believe people are naturally more negative than positive – and the news feeds into that – whereas positive requires work to overcome the negative. However, I maintaining hope by also thinking (that despite the news) the majority of the people in the world are good – including the majority of people in the world’s hot spots. Here in the USA, I want more CBS News than the other networks. For some excellent stories of news, search “Steve Hartman Kindness 101” …. they are wonderful!!!! …. but given copyright issues, I don’t know if they can be seen outside the USA. Let me know.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Today’s essay is definitely one to ponder. I agree with your assessment of humans and our place in this screwed up world. And WE screwed it up! Big time! We need to be more selfless. Selfish isn’t cutting it. We need to recognize, as you say, that we’re as much the same as we are different.

    Perhaps we should take a moment every so often, maybe more often, and make a concerted effort to understand and appreciate the people around us. We all bleed the same. We’re all flawed. And we’re all endowed with abilities that others can learn from. We should never forget that very often we’re “the others”!

    Great walking with you today Frank. Enjoy a great weekend. I gotta go wash sand out from between my toes! Ginger

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginger,
      Glad to know this essay got you thinking. Thanks to readers as yourself giving wonderful comments that I can weave into another essay. We (humans) are a conundrum of positives and negatives with a selfish quest for power and greed getting in the way of understanding commonalities with the rest of humanity. If we could only learn more from history and respect others. Oh well … the human conundrum marches on. Thanks for walking along and sharing your wonderful thoughts!

      Like

  4. The thing about humanity is that for all our uniqueness on the surface, there is a commonality underneath. I enjoy the quirkiness of people, being one, but I also attend to the idea that what we all want is peace and prosperity and good health and a few close friends to have a drink with.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ally,
      We seem to emphasize uniqueness without understanding commonality – not only with other species, but also within our own. Oh, how we humans have a quirks … and yes … they can be fun! I agree with you that in the end, most of us want the same thing. Unfortunately, the quest for power & greed of a few gets in the way. Thanks for walking along and sharing your thoughts.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. We certainly are a wacky configuration, but sadly, I don’t think we will ever reach the point where we respect the differences of others. The toothpaste done came out of the tube and I don’t think it’s going back in.

    So, failing that, at least we can all agree that Tuesdays are the best nights for tacos . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Enjoyed this compilation, Frank. I think one thing that makes all humans alike is that we hope that tomorrow will be as good as, or better than, today. Our ability to contemplate tomorrow differentiates us from other life forms, but the lyrics thing is great, too! No one (I maintain) wakes up in the morning and says, “I hope today sucks!” But my vision of what constitutes a “better tomorrow” I’ll wager, is vastly different than Vladimir Putin’s. Aye, there’s the rub.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eilene,
      Cheers to you for sharing your insight in such a way that I wish I would have written those words! For me, your words are positive yet skeptical because we understand how some people are – especially those in power. After all, once one has power, what they have is never enough.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Muri,
      I love your description of “one spot on the double helix of humanity” …. that’s brilliant. I agree … all of us offer something for history and for moving forward. We may not understand that all the little things carry an impact – but they do! Cheers to a positive tomorrow.

      Like

  7. You remind me of a scene in The Matrix movie – “I’d like to share a revelation I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species. I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with their surrounding environment, but you humans do not. You move to another area, and you multiply, and you multiply, until every natural resource is consumed. The only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You are a plague, and we are the cure.”

    A scene that stuck with me. I suppose we’re lucky that ‘the cure’ is a fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Frank, you’ve got some good stuff in here, but I think my favorite might be this statement: “We need to learn to accept that we are the same but different.” Like crayons in a box, we have enough similarities that get us classified as human, but enough differences to make us interesting and unique. Well crafted essay!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debbie,
      Thanks for the kind words. Now if I could only remember who supplied that thought way back when! You aren’t the only one commenting on the same-but-different thought, so it sure is worth pondering. Meanwhile, hats off to my readers as yourself who provide many wonderful comments that I can craft into an essay. Thanks for walking along.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I think you have covered all the main bases of us humanoids!
    And if only those who feel they are in some way better than others would only realize that or DNA is so closely similar that we are all the same model with different features. Maybe that would help gain peace?? Hmmm…

    Another thought provoking essay, Mr Frank! Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Random seems quite appropriate, Frank. I think I glanced at this at the weekend but I had been reading an article about Israel and Hamas and I was depressed beyond belief. We reach out to each other, but only in a limited way. I wish it were different.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jo,
      The Israeli-Palestinian situation is a complex one … .so there are no easy answers. Nonetheless, it is easy to see depressing. Meanwhile, there is no question in my mind that humans are capable of being different toward acceptance and differences …. but raising up to our potential is the question. Sorry to say, I’m not betting on it. Thanks for walking along.

      Like

  11. Hi Frank – your compilation of the comments was as complex as reading the comments about the comments you compiled after you compiled them. Humans are complex, yet all desire the simplicity of feeling loved while we’re here living life. Have you read the book On Living by Kerry Egan? It’s an excellent book. Here’s an excerpt from the cover. “On Living isn’t a book about dying. It’s a book about living, about making whole the brokenness we all share, by finding courage in the face of fear or the strength to make amends – by becoming profoundly compassionate and fiercely empathetic; by learning to see the world in shades of gray instead of black and white…” Thanks for sharing this thought-provoking post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Shelley,
      LOL … your opening sentence made me laugh – and I read it several times! Bottom line – yes – we are quite complex – and with our brain is the culprit for all the positives and negatives coming with that complexity. I haven’t read Egan’s book – but given what you shared, I totally agree! Being human isn’t easy – so perspective makes a huge difference. Thanks for walking along and sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Good morning, Early Bird. Early in the blog’s life, I noticed how the comments provided new thoughts full of insight that could be in another essay – so I compiled and then started the editing and weaving. About the first 20 posts here were all about the beach (sand, waves, shells, sun, wind, etc) …. but I didn’t have one for “beach” …. well, the comments about “beach” gave me two extra essays – let alone extras about the given topic. Whenever you see volume (v), odds are good it may be an essay around the comments. Not always – but much of the time.

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you for assembling the comments from your learned readers!
    It’s lovely to read all the interesting points of view.
    Happy Friday (again, late, but less late than for the last one)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.