211 – Snowbirding v2

For proper context, I wrote this in March 2023 near the end of my snowbird time. The good news is snowbird time is nearing.

Click the video above for several minutes of background waves while reading.

I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

This morning is great for walking. The temperature is warm, but there are enough clouds and haze in the sky to mute the sun. The breeze is light, but enough to feel good, and I should feel it in both directions today. Being closer to low tide than high, the sand is firm. The emerald green water is noticeably warmer than when I arrived two months ago. A few pelicans gracefully flow past. Dolphins passed by in the water. The number of people on the beach is noticeably fewer.

All this, yet I feel a bit melancholy today. My time here for this year is nearing an end, but what happened this morning accentuated the point. Most of the monthly rental agreements expired, so our friends left this morning – returning to Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Iowa, Ohio, and Tennessee. 

The morning coffee crew wasn’t there to greet us exiting the building on our way to the beach. Another couple didn’t come out onto their balcony to wave as we walked by their building. We were with most of them last night for the final hurrah of Tuesday music, and the evening ended with hugs, best wishes, and hopes of reuniting next year. One friend responded with a series of “Shut up, Frank” as I mentioned what we would do during our remaining days here before starting the two-day drive northward.

Our snowbird friends are the ones we share time with here. It’s fluid – meaning we don’t always do the same things together. Enjoying some of the same musicians serves as a common thread. 

I had a milestone birthday this year during my time here. It was these friends that gathered in our space for an afternoon of fun and fellowship. This year my birthday was a Friday, which means at home, I probably would have celebrated with our ballroom dance friends. Given birthdays happen on the same day each year, my last seven birthdays have been here at the beach as a snowbird.

I smile thinking about other things during my birthday. My wonderful sister-in-law visited, so she experienced our routine for a week. A few days before my birthday, one of our favorite singers invited me on stage to play the bongos with the band. I’m not a percussionist, but I am musical – so I thought I did fine! 

On birthday night, the lead singer mentioned me several times during the evening – even encouraging me to dance with some of the locals. I went up and danced a hustle with someone I didn’t know, but I knew she could dance. Later she mentioned to me what she told her friend: “I don’t know who he was, but he was smooth.” Then her jaw dropped when I mentioned I’m a social ballroom dancer.

This morning’s great weather reminds me that the weather the past two months has been off-the-charts wonderful. Not to say there weren’t bad days, but most of the temperatures have been above normal this year – even by double digits – plus the amount of precipitation has been less than normal. I laugh thinking about the people visiting here for the first time. If next year is normal, they will be shocked!

I think about how much I enjoy being down here during Mardi Gras. Unlike the rest of the country, Mardi Gras along the Gulf Coast is a season – not a day. There is something about the month-long celebration every day on the news. King Cake is a Mardi Gras tradition, so we served two for my birthday celebration.

I think about how this was a different year for us – the first not bringing my wife’s father along. Fewer obligations meant more freedom and spontaneity – but I probably walked less this year than in the past. I didn’t track my steps, but I’m guessing I averaged over 17,000 steps per day. Although I don’t know the exact number, I wrote 35-40 new drafts for future beach walk essays.

We’ve started the packing process and even started a list of what we need to buy on our first grocery store run after returning home – a list we will add to during the drive home. So yes – I’m melancholy today.

We will return home to unpack, multiple appointments, handbells, occasional meetings, ballroom dance, a Costco shopping spree, working at the golf course, and all the other routines of life at home. And that’s OK because I can look back at this snowbird season anticipating next year’s return trip. Besides, we have other travel plans between now and then.

Over the next ten months, the pelicans will still soar, the sanderlings will scamper, the gulls will squawk, the heron will patiently stand in solitude, and the passing dolphins have a way of making people smile. The waves will still splash onto the sand, the sun will shine, the moon will mystify, and the breeze will provide relief. All that and more will be waiting for me to return because I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

See what other bloggers have posted about Snowbirds

Next Post: Feet – Thursday 4th January @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

96 thoughts on “211 – Snowbirding v2”

    1. Joanne,
      Two months – and yes – we enjoy it – especially because not only is the weather normal than home, being away from the normal routine of home is great. Besides, it’s also the time I draft the essays that I use here. The drafts are rough, therefore still need work, but I can do that anywhere. Thanks for walking along. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I enjoyed that read, Frank. I don’t think you’ve written about what you do in your snowbirding days in any detail before, or if you have I’ve not seen it. In many ways it’s like our life in December when friends go home, and again in March/April. We’re in the UK at present and it’s a totally unreal world for us in so many ways, but being with family makes it alright. Hope you had a good Christmas and here’s to next year’s plans 🤗🩷

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Jo,
      Glad you enjoyed this little review of my snowbird life. I’m not surprised that you can relate because you took one step more – permanently move! Impressive – but also difficult to do. But you made the transition work, and have now settled into your new life. I have written an essay about my life there, but it was long ago! This essay is #211 …. and the first one was #3 (27 October 2020) … here’s the link. https://beachwalkreflections.wordpress.com/2020/10/27/3-snowbird-freedom/ … Glad you are enjoying your UK time with family! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Enjoy your escape this year, Frank, We’ll keep an eye on things here in the north. I love the photo of the Terns (I think). I never liked traveling to Florida, as it was always for business, but I did enjoy walks on the beach early before the meetings began. Happy New Year.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dan,
      Knowing northern weather will be under your watchful eye is very comforting. Thank you! The birds are sanderlings … well … that’s what they are called there. I recall taking the pic. There was a lot of glare, so I pointed and clicked … then looked at the pics later. Once I was them, oh wow … was I ever lucky! But hey – lucky is a good thing. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. My youngest sister was a snowbird for 10 years and then they made the decision to live on the gulf. Now she doesn’t visit in the winter – but has several friends who are snowbirds who rent the same place every year! The farewell and welcome back times are always emotional…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It was fun learning more about the snowbird portion of your calendar this year, Frank. You certainly sound like you had a lot of fun over the last couple of months, and here’s hoping there are a bunch more snowbird visits ahead. Here’s wishing you very safe travels and a safe, happy, prosperous 2024!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This was an especially pleasant walk today Frank because you gave us such a personal insight of what it is like (for you) to be a snowbird. I never considered before how emotional it is to say “goodbye “ when it’s time to pack up and return home.

    Clearly these friendships are deep rooted, and I imagine you all keep in touch until you meet again. The bond you all have created is priceless.

    Love all your photos. What a beautiful place. What beautiful views.

    Wishing you and your bride a Happy New Year that surrounds you with the love of family and friends, keeps you safe and healthy, has you laughing every day, and keeps the sand out from between your toes while you’re walking on the beach.

    Ginger Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginger,
      Yes … a different type of beach walk essay and definitely more personal. I remember the idea for this essay came out of the blue, so I decided to give it a try. Meanwhile, we’ve already touched base with our snowbird friends to see who is returning – and all are on board. The photos are mine … as is the backdrop for this blog (which was taken on our first trip as snowbirds). Thanks for the best wishes. Joyous blessings and wishes to you for 2024!!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Eileen,
      Yes – this essay is a lot more personal than most of the essays. Although I embed personal tidbits in many essays, more personal stuff seems to come out when reflecting about life. Thanks for the best wishes for the upcoming season. We are definitely looking forward to it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. How nice you were in your “happy place” to celebrate a birthday. Our yearly breaks are short but equally sweet with memories made and as you do (I’m sure!) they are memories we call on throughout the rest of the year to keep us going – the promise of more sweet times. Hope this year’s snowbird season is as wonderful as your memories of past ones!

    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pam,
      Whether getaways to a happy place are short, long, or in between, those memories are sweet. Well stated! …. Thanks for the best wishes for the upcoming season. Being an El Nino year, I sensing cool and damp – but hopefully I’m wrong. Time will tell, but odds are very good that the weather will be better than home. 🙂

      Like

  7. was good reading your thoughts around yourself personally and understandable the feeling melancholy. Thank you for sharing your time there with us here.
    Happy belated birthday, Frank…with wishes for many many more beach walk shares to come.

    🤍🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Destiny,
      Just going through this essay and I noticed I missed multiple comments. Shame on me … and sorry about that. The good news is the melancholy is good because I wrote this last March … plus our snowbird season has begun … and another birthday is on the calendar in about 5 weeks. Thanks for the best wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. So are you a Pisces like I am? As a Pisces I understand my need to be near water. I’d like to be a snowbird, and I guess I am since we escape in the harshest time in NE – February to Kauai. And as you mention above, besides loving the warmth and sun, the change in routine is so wonderful. Glad you are soon able to fly like a bird and avoid the snow. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pam,
      Although not a snowbird, glad you could relate. February to Kauai sounds wonderful. What a beautiful island. Years ago (2002) we spent a week along the north shore. Hate to disappoint, but I’m not a Pisces – but long live the Age of Aquarius. My wife is a Pisces, but fish don’t do well without water. 😉 Thanks for walking along.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Resa,
      I’m not sure I’ve ever had a belated-birthday wish 10 months later …. but hey …. I’ll take it. Thanks & clink! Gotta love the Beatles Birthday version! 🙂 The last snowbird season was a good one … and I drafted this essay at the end of it (late-Feb or early-March) with the idea that I would post it before leaving to return … so it worked! Thanks for walking along.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I hope you’ll have a wonderful and memorable time as a snowbird. To come back refreshed and ready to deal with all the spring and summery things back at your home!

    Safe travels!

    Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Votre article , vos photographies magnifiques me font penser au livre de Marguerite Duras : ” Un barrage contre le Pacifique”. Elle devait quitter son lieu de vie, à cause de la montée des eaux. J’espère que vous ne connaîtrez pas ce déchirement et que vous continuerez à arpenter la plage
    , comme oiseau migrateur, durant encore de nombreuses années.

    (As per Google Translate) Your article, your magnificent photographs make me think of Marguerite Duras’ book: “A dam against the Pacific”. She had to leave her place of life because of the rising waters. I hope that you will not experience this heartbreak and that you will continue to walk the beach
    , as a migratory bird, for many more years.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I think this might be my favorite of all your reflections, Frank. Who knew you were a social dancer and musical? Birthdays are fun times. Ours are both in the fall and I always enjoy them. Thanks for joining with WQ this week. It’s always fun to read your links. 🙂 Happy New Year to you and your family and may you have a wonderful, fun-filled 2024.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marsha,
      I can’t believe how many comments I missed on this essay. Shame on me. Well, part of it was due to changing locations, but that’s still unacceptable to me. Sorry about that. Music has been part of my life for a long time. Easily hearing rhythms is also very useful in ballroom dance – which is something we’ve done for about 15 years. It’s fun and we’ve met wonderful new friends. Wishing you the best for 2024.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My best friend and I took lessons after her husband passed. My husband never enjoyed it. When she remarried, her husband did enjoy dancing, but not so much the lessons. She ended up being a good dancer, him not so much! I ended up quitting and Vince and I are content to hug in time to the music in our living room.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks for sharing the stories. Both of us are musical, so matching the rhythm of the music and the feet was easy for us. Interesting is how many people we know that only one spouse dances while the other stays home. Some have what I call “dance spouses.” It works! Others simply show up as singles. Also, while some couples only dance with each other, others “dance around.”

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I think it’s wonderful that you that activity you can enjoy together. Having a dance spouse would never work for me. I’m not that dedicated. 🙂 Have fun. Put some dance videos of you two up so we can see you in action!

            Liked by 1 person

  12. Great post, Frank! One of my favorites. I could relate to some of the melancholy as I turned 60 this year and seem to be suddenly amazed at all that has happened in life over the years. But there is no better place to refresh than at the beach! We have snowbirds here, and in fact for a time my parents were snowbirds. It’s a bit of work, but it sounds like you have a fantastic life going on! …absolutely beautiful beach photos! 🏖️🩴🥰😊❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lisa,
      Glad you enjoyed a glance into my snowbird life. Since the publishing of this post, I have arrived! Maybe I’ll reflect again at the end of the stay. Thanks for the kind words about the photos because they are authentically mine. Meanwhile, snowbirding is a wonderful life. Interesting how it is geographical. Many people from Minnesota here – but a long-time who lives in Minnesota didn’t realize many come here because most of the snowbirds he knows go to your area!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I can readily understand how much benefit you experience in your two-month snow bird experience. It’s a lovely lifestyle, Frank. The first time I really understood the concept of Snow Birds was through my sister-in-law, now deceased, who lived and worked in the hospitality sector in Arizona. She constantly talked about the influx of “snow birds” to the state and I was fascinated. I think if I lived in a typically cold winter state I’d be finding another way to “do winter,” too! You’ve found a great rhythm!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debra,
      Glad you enjoyed this little reflective stroll. Given your love for the beach and relaxation, I knew you would appreciate this one. Interesting how Snowbirding is geographical … that is, the east coasters go to Florida … I know more Ohioans who go to central/south Florida than this area – but westerners head to Arizona or I imagine your state. Yet, I imagine the locals have a different perspective about the snowbirds! … positive & negative! Meanwhile, the new rhythm is here. … well, I’m still settling in. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Happy Belated Birthday Frank. How lovely to dance on the beach and celebrate with your Snowbird friends and the pelicans. Only 17,000 steps a day Frank? Come on you’re slacking. Make it a grfeat year my friend. Happy New Year❣️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cindy,
      Yep – 17K was slacking compared to over 20K per day I did a few years ago. Meanwhile, thanks for the belated birthday wish. Interestingly, my next birthday is about 6 weeks away. 🙂 Meanwhile, just arrived a few days ago and starting to feel settled in …. but not totally yet. Happy New Year to you!

      Like

  15. Walking on the beach is a privileged experience that not everyone gets. I’m sure you appreciate it, though, which is a good thing, as evidenced by the title of your blog. I find one of the good things about walking is you can blank out the world and DON’T have to think — I spend a lot of my time musing, and sometimes it’s nice to just shut down for a while.

    Come visit my blog and leave some comments, if you like

    http://www.catxman.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Greg,
      Welcome first-time commenter to my cyber beach. Sorry I missed this comment earlier, but I missed too many in this essay (which is very unlike me). I agree with you that the beach is a great place to let the mind go blank and remain still. I know I don’t use it that way, but I can certainly appreciate your thoughts. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  16. This was one of the most pleasant of your posts to read, Frank. I enjoyed getting a glimpse of your two-month snowbird life.

    Just think, you’ll be leaving for it again soon, right? IF not already?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.