190 – Carbon

For those interested in future beach walk topics, visit the Topics List page, then scroll the list to see the topics identified as New (N).

Click the video above for 2 minutes of background waves while reading.

I like walking on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

I encounter shells, jellyfish, dead fish, and occasional strands of seaweed scattered across the sand. I see a fisherman reeling in live fish, and another fisherman placing shrimp on a hook as bait – all under the watchful eye of a patient heron. A variety of birds are doing their daily business of looking for food in the water or the sand. I might see a few crabs dead or alive, or even dolphins swimming.

I’ve mentioned living or once-living things because I’m focusing on something deeper. That is, life as we know it – something called carbon-based life forms.

Photo by RF._.studio on Pexels.com

I think about carbon, the fourth most abundant element by mass in the universe after hydrogen, helium, and oxygen. With the symbol C on the Periodic Table and atomic number 6, its ability to share electrons allows it to form millions of different chemical compounds. So many that carbon is the foundation for the entire field of organic chemistry.

I think about carbon and its role in living things. Carbon combines with oxygen and hydrogen to make carbohydrates (including the ones we know as sugars). Carbon, oxygen, and hydrogen also form the foundation of proteins and fats – some even alcohol – then add nitrogen (and sometimes sulfur) to the carbon-hydrogen-oxygen mix to make DNA, RNA, antibiotics, amino acids, and more.

I think about carbon in plants – the foundation of cellulose, an important structural carbohydrate for plants – therefore carbon is an important component in cotton, hemp, and numerous fabrics. We also know cellulose as an indigestible dietary fiber. One cannot forget starch as the plant’s reserve food supply which is also a nutritional source for us. Yes, carbon is in starch.

I think about the importance of carbon in plants and animals in the sea that I see – but they are the plants and animals I seldom see. Their needs are very similar to the living things on land.

Photo by Hung Tran on Pexels.com

I think of carbon and its different forms as charcoal, graphite, diamonds, coal, and inks and toners.

I think of carbon as an important filtering component in water purification, numerous home filters, and gas masks because carbon helps absorb odors, impurities, gasses, and poisons.

I think about carbon moving from organism to organism. Carbon is involved in plants making their food, all living things releasing energy from food, all living things producing the new molecules they need, and bacteria decomposing materials.

I think about carbon as a fuel source. After all, carbon is in coal, gasoline, methane, butane, propane, octane, kerosene, natural gas, paraffin, and others.

I think about carbon and its vital component in plastics, lubricants, refrigerants, and all fossil fuels.

I think about the important role of carbon in manufacturing steel and carbides that are important to human life.

Photo by Anamul Rezwan on Pexels.com

I think about carbon as a component of calcium carbonate – the main ingredient in the shells I see, plus in limestone, marble, chalk, antacids, and more.

I think about the carbon found in carbon dioxide – the gas that exhalation removes from our bodies. The same gas that the animals of the sea and land also do in their way for the same reason. The same gas is also essential to green plants making their food. The same gas gives effervescence to carbonate beverages.

Burning fire releases the same gas, which is also a prime component in some fire extinguishers. Yeast releases the same gas to make bread dough rise and transform grape juice into wine. The same gas also dissolves in the waters of the sea, lakes, and rivers.

I think about the abundance of carbon in the sun, stars, comets, and asteroids. All this carbon formed in the core of stars by joining atoms of helium and hydrogen together – then scattered in the universe as space dust from supernova explosions.

Photo by Miriam Espacio on Pexels.com

I think of the carbon within me and all people – the same carbon in all the animals in the sea and on the land – the same carbon in all the green plants – the same carbon in bacteria, mosses, and fungi. Yes, the same carbon from the stars in the universe – so yes, we and the rest of life are stardust.

I think of carbon – its role in our life and its role in all life as we know it. Carbon is a very-worthy thought as I walk because carbon is more than we realize. After all, I like walking on the beach because it is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

See what other bloggers have posted about Carbon

Next Post: Circles v2 – Saturday 24th June @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

83 thoughts on “190 – Carbon”

  1. This song fascinated me the first time I heard. I had forgotten about it. Thanks for pointing it out again. On another note, I will once again show my age, throughout the read my brain kept saying,
    remember carbon paper?” We had to use these sheets of carbon paper in between sheets of paper to make copies. We still use the term CC when we copy someone on something.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Holy moly! I have a newly gained respect for carbon! Like so many others, my first thought was the carbon paper we used when typing. In the office I worked in, we were required to make many copies. So if you made a typo, you had to peel through layer after layer of carbon paper to carefully erase the mistake.

    I had no idea of the carbon connections. This is really an interesting post Frank. You must have been a great teacher! Hell, you still are ’cause you keep teaching us!
    Ginger

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ginger,
      Thanks for the kind words about this post. This was tough to right because I had so many thoughts about carbon. Meanwhile, I also recall typing with carbon paper! I wonder if the stuff is still made? Just looked it up on Amazon … YES!

      Like

  3. It’s a bit science-techy for me, Frank, but fascinating all the same! It proves further how everything is connected, which brings together the spiritual and scientific sides of creation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marina,
      As you well know, I try to stray from controversy with these essays …. and you also know that I wasn’t shy of challenges on the old blog. To me, carbon’s connection in life is a great connection with stardust … thus the perfect video! Well … in my mind. Yamas!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A great post, Frank!! Lots to think about. I have marveled at the complexity of our world. We are simply visitors. Our actions must be resolute, our choices should be clear to us all. We must maintain balance and understand how carbon is vital for our survival and yet can be the source of our extinction. As Henry David Thoreau once wrote, “What is the use of a house if you haven’t got a tolerable planet to put it on?”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great informative post Frank… that is why the aims of Zero Carbon is not feasible it would mean killing of the world at large..
    May your mind continue to think as you walk your walk and talk your talk Frank 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I must admit I haven’t thought about carbon as while reading this, but then I realized that I often do, just possibly not as “Oh, yeah, carbon.” Hope that makes sense. Loved all the connections and you got me thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 La chimie verte restera une douce utopie (excepté la synthèse de l’ibuprofène).
      Je détestais la chimie minérale et comme vous appréciait la chimie organique.
      Mais combien de doigts ont été brûlés en coudant le verre? Combien de doigts ont été coupés en taillant le verre ou le liège pour fabriquer tous ces circuits de distillation …. L’étudiant pas doué que j’étais devait inhaler et ingérer pas mal de toxiques, aujourd’hui toujours présents dans le cerveau et les rondeurs féminines.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Dan,
      Ann’s translation (according to Google Translate) … Green chemistry will remain a sweet utopia (except for the synthesis of ibuprofen). I hated inorganic chemistry and like you liked organic chemistry. But how many fingers have been burned by bend the glass? How many fingers have been cut cutting glass or cork to make all these distillation circuits…. The not gifted student that I was had to inhale and ingest a lot of toxins, still present today in the brain and feminine curves.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Resa,
      Glad I was able to complete some connections for you. I think many readers have those thoughts. Thanks for the classic song. I had no clue not only of the closing lyrics you mentioned, but also that Joni Mitchell not only did the song, but wrote it! I always that it was CSNY.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Many think it was CSNY because they had the hit with it.
        Graham Nash and Joni wrote tons of songs together, and were quite the couple on the scene.
        Have you see the documentary “EchoIn The Canyon”. Joni and Graham are in it… so is the rest of the music world at that time! Here’s one of the trailers. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoVooIW67cI

        Like

  7. Frank, I had no idea! Thank you for another educating, yet interesting, post. Those of us who didn’t elect to take all those chemistry courses are certainly getting our eyes opened by reading your words here!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carbon is miraculous! It isn’t just about how it combines with other elements but how it folds and stacks with other Carbon molecules – one way and you get soot and another and you get diamonds!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hi Frank – thanks for the science lesson on Carbon. I don’t walk the beach as much as you do. In my limited beach walking, I can say I’ve never really given carbon that deep of thought. I guess I’ve taken it for granted. 🤔😂 Carbon does seem to need H2O to make things green (as in my yard during the drought).
    I don’t miss eating the bad forms of carbohydrates though – I think of that on a daily basis.
    I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “We are Stardust . . . Created when unstable stars exploded.” That could explain so much! I wonder how many people today understand how we were made, microscopically speaking. I’m sure even if they are aware, not many care. There are simply too many responsibilities to spend time worrying about something so esoteric. And yet I’ll bet most of them have looked up into that night sky at some point in their lives and wondered. It is so beautiful to think of us being a small part of something so large, so unimaginable. It is a wonderful topic for meandering with the sand beneath your feet.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. well Frank you surely stirred up some interesting comments on this one, and rightly so. I laughed at the carbon paper comment – I too remember it all too well. Used to get all over your fingers if you weren’t careful. I find the science of carbon-dating particularly interesting. Through it we’ve had much more success dating the many things archaeologists have discovered over the years. Great food for thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh that carbon paper! I remember it well, and its peculiar odor, when it came out of the mimeograph machine.

    When we start to think about what we are made of, and all the tentacles that connect us, it begins to boggle our minds, at least it does me.
    Thanks for making us appreciate Carbon, that humble molecule combo with such important functions.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi Frank…I am an avid walker too, but on local trails or thru our neighborhood. We live 150 miles from the NC coast but our daughter and her family live about 15 miles from the Atlantic Ocean.
    My favorite time on the beach is early spring or after Labor Day
    Ceciia

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.