196 – Hold v2

I didn’t realize how much we hold onto things until writing the first essay, then reader comments expanded my initial thoughts. This is a blend of readers’ comments from the first Hold essay and additional thoughts from me. Thank you readers for your contributions.

Click the video above for 2 minutes of background waves while reading.

I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

We crave connections: the physical, emotional, and spiritual. We form and hold connections from the moment we are born to the moment we die. We hold hands, ideas, and beliefs. Eventually, we hold onto self-awareness! 

We hold onto something because it can be a sense of security – especially in times of insecurity. We hold certain truths to be self-evident, such as life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, while our holds on bitterness, anger, and resentment challenge us. 

Photo by Gotta Be Worth It on Pexels.com

We hold on to our hearts and minds – especially people, places, things, and memories. But we also hold on to hope because, during difficult times, we hold firm to the ramp of hope to navigate the difficult path. 

Hold is a reluctance to move sometimes that is within us. We hold onto memories of the departed who have been dear to us. Memories allow the departed to be among the living and keep them a part of this world. We hold on to my memories because I know they are fading, and they are part of me.

When someone passes, we hold on to their stuff like it was ours. Well, maybe it was. Some of us want to hold on to it, but others want to place it in the trash. Others must hold it one more time before letting go. 

Unfortunately for some of us, dementia and Alzheimer’s break those connections, and the person can’t hold onto all the things that anchor them – so they drift away like a boat no longer held to the dock.

Holding on can deliver both mental and physical pain. Back pain from too much gardening, too much sitting, or other reasons? But these can also be signs or metaphors for life’s burdens and demons that we need to release to remove the psychological and physical pain. 

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

We hold on and hold off. We proclaim, “To have and to hold’ til death do us part.” Life changes as we age, but if we hold the love, we are good til the last drop.

Nobody likes being on hold or in a holding pattern on a plane, but do you remember when people put merchandise “on hold” in a store? 

We hold onto many things in life: grudges, hats, hands, noses, tongues,  breath, memories, court, horses, forts, aces, and all the cards. We can even hold back tears and hold on tight. While some hold the purse strings, others hold their liquor and hold on tight while holding hands. 

There are no holds barred while holding one at arm’s length, but we hold others’ feet to the fire while holding our heads high. After all, if we hold our mouths the right way, we can say the right things and do things right. 

Holding onto something and holding on to someone are very different despite being the same. We hold onto much in life, but that could be part of being human. 

Photo by Min An on Pexels.com

We hold onto things we think are obligations – but they are not. Things that we don’t have time for – but because it is part of us, we hold on to them – and our blogs are an example for some of us. 

I’m holding on to these thoughts and all the other essays I created here. It’s been fun, and full of memories – plus the delight of engaging with people from across the world. Hopefully, my time here will continue because it doesn’t feel like an obligation. Well, at least not yet. Thanks for reminding me to be more present in the moment as I hold onto it – whatever ‘it’ is. After all, I like to walk on the beach. It is good for the mind, body, and soul – and refreshing on my feet.

See what other bloggers have posted about Hold

Next Post: Boundaries – Saturday 26th August @ 1 AM (Eastern US)

90 thoughts on “196 – Hold v2”

  1. Hi Frank, a lovely esssy, lots of food for thought. I don’t hold onto people or things as much as many others. I moved too many times as a youngster and had to break ties and give up things each time. I shall reflect further.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. thanks for a lovely start to the day, Frank.
    though deeply thought provoking… insightful too and easier on the mind with those waves in the background 👌

    “We hold on and hold off… ”
    nicely said. 🤍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Destiny,
      Your comment captured much of what I try to achieve with every essay … especially relaxing and thought-provoking. Glad that I was able to start you day. (I normally post at the same time.) Where in the world are you located? I’m in Ohio USA (away from the beach, but I do my drafting when at the Gulf of Mexico.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The only thing I really WANT to hold on to are my memories……they can easily slip away as we age – at least for some of us. My Mom had Alzheimers and I watched her confusion advance as time slipped by and she forgot who she was – I want to hold on to as much as I can.

    Pam

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Good take on hold Cincy

    I no longer hold onto a collection but once upon a time, I had so many. Baseball cards to old neon signs, soda machines, quilts, coca cola merchandise, you name it. I knew I had a problem when I went to a second storage unit on top the stuff I stashed in the garage and basement.

    It no longer has a hold on me 😉

    The Yankees, however, have a hold on last place.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marc,
      Collecting anything can take a hold on a person … and I imagine all of us are guilty about something. But it seems you had quite the memorabilia collection. Which was for favorite baseball card? Favorite thing? Meanwhile, I see the gap out of the cellar is widening …. now that must be a disappointing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know this well.

        My favorite baseball card that I sold was a Nolan Ryan rookie card. My favorite card that I still have is a Willie Mays 1954 Topps in near mint condition. That was the year Mays won his first and only World Series title over the Indians.

        Favorite thing was a 1961 Buick Skylark, white top on dark crimson. Great shape. I bought it for 200 bucks from a guy who was getting rid of it before I realized I didn’t know a thing about cars. I babied it, found an odd part here and there for it, it was harder back in the day. I had a mechanic friend who tinkered with it. I ended up reselling it years later for 2 grand. I probably broke even. Maybe. Still, it was a cool little number, with the bench seat and that little window panel.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Sheila “Spiral Sister” shared a link to your post on her blog. The thoughts were on my mind. Letting go of some physical things that no longer serve sounds like a nice ritual for a birthday around the corner in September. I’m in Kansas, far from a beach so also enjoyed the images. much love, in lak’ech, Debra

        Liked by 1 person

  5. As I age, I’ve come to realize the cost of holding on to physical things can be very high and have begun the process of “Swedish Death cleaning.” It’s been utterly life changing, in a good way. Savoring the memories yet ditching the extraneous physical ‘stuff’ from those memories has been liberating. I’m sure it’s much different and challenging for those who suffer from dementia-my heart goes out to them. Have a good weekend, Frank.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful essay Frank. You covered the term “hold” from every angle there is it seems. I wonder if some of the things we hold on to, both physical and memory, are a test for teaching us how to “let go”. I held on to collections, clothes that I “might” wear again, and negative memories. I finally let that baggage go and am all the better for it.

    I am glad I can sit down every Saturday and hold on to my iPad and read one of your thought provoking essays. A good essay from you….well, my dad would have said, “Now that’s something you can hang your hat on!”

    Hope you and your bride have a lovely weekend.
    Ginger

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ginger,
      You are always good at stimulating my thoughts …. and I like holding on as a test to let go. Oh boy … do we ever hold on too stuff. Moving is a great time to purge … but I find myself going going through purging times! Meanwhile, thanks for the kind words about my essays. I want them to be thought-provoking while displaying a sense of calm/relaxation. We had a good weekend – including a whirlwind weekend up Saturday-back Sunday 3-hour trip to Cleveland to celebrate a 5th birthday of a great niece.

      Like

  7. Frank,
    So many reasons (for us) to hold onto things. And once we are gone the ones left behind are left to deal with them while wondering why we did. I’ve been looking at my basement and all the stuff that I know my kids will want nothing to do with. Why am I holding them still?
    Sigh. We humans can be funny.
    Happy Saturday!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dale,
      Oh my … is that ever true. We do it to others and our parents did it to us. I remember going through my dad’s stuff …. of course I found some nuggets, but most were pitched. But I think about that from my end too … .and occasionally go into purge mode! Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Frank,
    Terrific essay, thank you!
    I have been getting rid of stuff I once held onto for the last 10 years. I make sure to give stuff away to friends or the Goodwill, recycle, I sell things other people really want, and some stuff I have left from the movies I did brings in a few dollars more, I turn some old clothes and fabrics into gowns, and the 1 thing I don’t often do is throw stuff in the garbage.
    Yay, I create space!
    Not.
    The universe has decided that with all the space I create, I should hold onto some other stuff.

    Anyway, as maddening as it is, I’m still working on it. Cheers! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htgr3pvBr-I&list=RDhtgr3pvBr-I&start_radio=1

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Resa,
      Purge mode is important to all of us. We too also try to donate as much as possible. It would be interesting to know what the nieces and nephews would take in the end. Well, hopefully they wouldn’t pitch the nice things. Then again, that’s how collectables end up at Goodwill. Thanks for sharing! …. and loved the classic song!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True!
        Well, my niece has the Hendrix and Morrison bottles now. Says that’s all she wants. That and copies of all the movies I designed the costumes for. Done! So, that’s that.
        Good ol’ Goodwill! Clink!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I think the happiest people are the ones who don’t hold onto *things* but do hold onto special people and memories. Your description of a person with Alzheimer’s is heartbreaking. The mother of one of my friends had that, and it was so awfully sad the mom didn’t even know her own daughter. Thanks for giving us some more deep things to think about today, Frank!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I hadn’t thought about how many ways “hold” can be applied to our actions and beliefs, Frank. I really believe the more we don’t hold on–to anything too tightly–the better our overall life experience. But I think the truest thing you shared is that maybe some of our “holding on” is just a result of being human. You’ve packed in a lot of thought material here, my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Good morning Frank – I’m a little late to the walk, better late than never, right. 😉 On my desk this morning is a sympathy card and on the cover is a bird on a reed and light blue flowers and the words Sometimes there are no words. . . Your lines “Unfortunately for some of us, dementia and Alzheimer’s break those connections, and the person can’t hold onto all the things that anchor them – so they drift away like a boat no longer held to the dock.” hit home as my aunt who had Alzheimer’s passed away a week ago. I work for a company that takes care of the elderly with memory care issues. My mom had Vascular Dementia and I was her POA. I’ve been so deep in Dementia for 15 years. I agree, it truly is a drifting away from life. Sometimes the waves are harsh and nasty and other times the waves are gentle reminders that love and tender moments will be what is eventually remembered by us when our loved one passes peacefully away. Thank you for sharing your thought-provoking words about holding on! 🤗🥰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Shelley,
      Oh wow … thanks for sharing various aspects of Alzheimer’s in your family. So difficult …. but also thanks you for saying that my description was fitting. Peace and memories to you and your family regarding your aunt. Meanwhile, I returned last week (topic was Black) – so you haven’t missed much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. 🙂 “Emptying the nest” is not easy. You often write about this subject.
      Husband’s path and mine will going on with my father and (Alzheimer) mother, at home.
      So may you words help us.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Aw, Anne, I’m sorry to hear about your family also having Alzheimer’s to deal with. I think it’s hard to find a family nowadays that hasn’t been touched by it in one way or another. I’m sending hugs, patience, and thoughts for perseverance your way 🤗

        Liked by 2 people

  12. Well done Frank – I sometimes wonder how long it takes you to develop your posts which are always so thoughtful and cover so much ground. This one made me think of the many songs about Holding On. Maybe another version?!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tina,
      I’m glad you enjoyed this essay and thanks for the kind words. To answer your question – each essay takes a while. From thinking to jotting down thoughts, then stringing them together into something sensible. Then editing, adding, changing, … then finally polishing. I’m still working (in the background) on essays that I drafted last winter. (I think I drafted over 35 during last snowbird season).

      Like

  13. I have no problem of letting go of objects – I moved to Lyon with two carloads of belongings. However, lately I have been holding on situationally, e.g.: relationships, opportunities. I don’t want to close doors, a mix of not wanting to close off the past, not wanting to give up hope, and a fear of missing out. I am hearing “move on” in my self-talk.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yahooey,
      Wow … you have tapped into two great examples regarding holding. Moving is a great opportunity to downsize the stuff, so (regardless of the circumstances) moving with two carloads is quite the accomplishment. Then again, the hold relationships have on a person is much easier said than done. Your final sentence states it well. Best wishes to you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.